Kudos McGill University

| Skip to search Skip to navigation Skip to page content

User Tools (skip):

Sign in | Friday, November 30, 2018
Sister Sites: McGill website | myMcGill

McGill Reporter
March 11, 2004 - Volume 36 Number 12
| Help
Page Options (skip): Larger


Two of the nine Killam Research Fellowship awards for 2004 have gone to McGill professors.

Hong Guo, James McGill professor of physics, was named for his work on multi-scale modelling for nanoelectronic devices. Nanotechnology is advancing at an incredibly rapid rate and Professor Guo is on the leading edge of this extremely important field. His research lies at the heart of the physics that govern properties of nanometric electro-mechanical systems.

The award to Brian Young, James McGill professor of history, will allow him to carry out a research project called Patrician Families in Lower Canada/Quebec, 1760–1840. The study will examine the ideological, institutional and social influences of a particular Quebec elite after the British conquest.

The Canada Council for the Arts Killam Research Fellowships are made possible by a bequest of Mrs. Dorothy J. Killam and a gift she made before her death in 1965. The awards honour and support eminent scholars engaged in research projects of outstanding merit in the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, health sciences, engineering and interdisciplinary studies within these fields.

Gustavo Duque received the John Ruedy Award for innovation in medical education. He will receive this prestigious award during the meeting of the Canadian Association of Medical Colleges in Halifax this April. The award is a recognition the McGill Electronic Evaluation Portfolio, an online method of evaluation that promotes student/tutor interaction, stimulates active learning and self-reflection and offers permanent feedback to the students.

A team of McGill MBA students has won first place at one of the largest international case competitions in North America. The Vanderbilt MBA eStrategy Case Competition was held at the Owen Graduate School of Management at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee, where 15 top business schools strove to develop a growth strategy for WebMD Envoy. McGill MBA students Dave Purewal, Christian Reece and Russell Seidle were awarded a $15,000 (US) prize after being selected by a panel of industry leaders.

Georges Kopp, the Chemistry Department's glassblower, has received his second Andrews Glass Award for best presentation of a technical paper at the American Scientific Glassblowers Society (ASGS) Meeting. He also received the Karl Walther Award for the best technical article for the year in the glassblowing journal FUSION.

James Archibald, director of Translation Studies, has been elected vice-president of the Association for Business Communication (ABC), an international organization committed to fostering excellence in business communication scholarship, research, education and practice.

view sidebar content | back to top of page