Dr. Emil Skamene, the director of the McGill Centre for the Study of Host Resistance, has been named the research director for the McGill University Hospital Centre. He will also be the scientific director of the MUHC Research Institute. An internationally respected expert on immunology and genetics, Skamene has earned several honours in his career, including the Canada Council's Killam Memorial Prize.

Professor Morton Mendelson, from the Department of Psychology, is the new associate dean for the Faculty of Science. Mendelson is an authority on social relationships between peers and siblings from early childhood to early adulthood.

Professor Charles Lin is the new chair of the Department of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences. Lin earned his PhD at MIT and taught at the University of Toronto before joining McGill in 1986. His research interests include climate dynamics, atmospheric planetary waves and advanced modeling techniques for examining and predicting climatic changes.

Professor Alison Harvison Young has left the Faculty of Law to become the new dean of law at Queen's University. Harvison Young, an expert on family law, was selected by McGill law students as the winner of the John W. Durnford Teaching Excellence Award in 1997.

Ms. Claire Boudreau is the new executive secretary to Principal Bernard Shapiro. She joined McGill in 1984 as a secretary in the Department of Epidemiology and Statistics. Since then, she has worked in the Department of Psychology as the secretary to the chair and as graduate program secretary and in the Recruitment and Liaison Office and Development and Alumni Relations Services as administrative coordinator. Boudreau has also been the executive secretary to the vice-principal (academic).

Ms. Julie Armenti is the new executive secretary to Vice-Principal (Academic) Bill Chan. Armenti has been a research assistant at Concordia University and the unit coordinator for the Royal Victoria Hospital's Division of Hematology. She joined the Office of the Principal and Vice-Principal (Academic) in 1994, leaving briefly for a position in the Department of Human Resources. She has been the acting executive secretary to Vice-Principal Chan since May 1997.

Ms. Robyn Wiltshire is the new executive assistant to the deans of the Faculties of Arts and Science. She had worked previously as the administrative officer for the Department of Psychology. Wiltshire is a former chair of Management Forum and the current co-chair of the Faculty and Staff Annual Fund Committee.

Professor Jeremy Webber, from the Faculty of Law, left McGill to become the dean of law at the University of Sydney in Australia. Webber, whose interests include constitutional law and aboriginal justice systems, was McGill's associate dean (graduate studies and research) of law.

Professor Lynn McAlpine is the new director of McGill's Centre for University Teaching and Learning. McAlpine recently served as the associate director of adult education for the Department of Educational and Counselling Psychology. CUTL is a research centre that focuses on how students learn and how teachers can teach effectively. It also provides assistance to McGill teachers seeking to improve their skills.