Professor Armand de Mestral, from the Faculty of Law, has been elected president of the Canadian Red Cross Society. This is a two-year position. De Mestral says he hopes to build new ties between the organization and the country's universities. The Canadian Red Cross is involved in a wide range of activities including water safety, emergency relief, first aid programs and child abuse prevention services.

Professor Thomas Hudson, from the Departments of Medicine and Human Genetics, has been appointed by the federal government to serve on the Canadian Biotechnology Advisory Committee (CBAC). CBAC is an expert, arm's-length committee created to advise ministers, raise public awareness and engage Canadians in a dialogue on biotechnology matters.

Professor Axel van den Berg, from the Department of Sociology, has been elected as a member of the executive council for the Society for Advancement of Socio-Economics and appointed as a member of the SASE executive committee. He has also joined the editorial board of The Canadian Journal of Sociology.

Professor Terry Wheeler, from the Department of Natural Resource Sciences, is the 1999 recipient of the Entomological Society's C. Gordon Hewitt Award for outstanding contributions to Canadian entomology by an individual under 40. Wheeler is the director of the Lyman Entomological Museum at Macdonald Campus.

Dr. David Fleiszer, director of the Faculty of Medicine's Molson Informatics Project, was inducted into the McGill Sports Hall of Fame. The director of the Montreal General Hospital's breast cancer clinic, Fleiszer was once a star running back for the McGill Redmen and earned the Hec Crichton Trophy as the outstanding university football player in Canada.