Professor Kevin Dean, of the Faculty of Music, had one of his compositions chosen by the Canada Council to be one of the approximately 65 cuts to appear on a four-CD boxed set of Canadian artists marking the 50th Anniversary of the United Nations.

Ms. Brigide Mattar, a student in the Department of Electrical Engineering, earned an Arthur Surveyer Medal and bursary from the SNC-Lavalin Group. The award is made to students who have "distinguished themselves through academic excellence, qualities in leadership and their involvement in the student community."

Ms. Dorothy Carruthers and students and staff of the Graduate School of Library and Information Studies raised over $2,300 during AIDS Awareness Week for the McGill AIDS Centre's Annual Summer Family Camp for Children with HIV/AIDS.

Mr. Claude Forget, chair of the board of directors for the Royal Victoria Hospital, has been awarded the Canadian Hospital Association's 1995 Award of Excellence for Service and Leadership. The award recognizes Forget's achievements in health services and his years of service dedicated to the advancement of public policy and health services management.

Professor Emeritus Alastair McKinnon, from the Department of Philosophy, has been appointed by the Queen of Denmark a Knight of the Order of Dannebrog for his contribution to the study and understanding of philosopher Søren Kirkegaard. In 1994, Professor McKinnon became Visiting Research Professor at the new Søren Kirkegaard Research Centre in Copenhagen and is the only scholar ever to have had a study of Kierkegaard published by the Danish Royal Society.

Professor Reinhard Hesse of the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences is the Canadian participant on an international team of 25 scientists who will explore the ocean floor in the West Atlantic. Part of the Ocean Drilling Program, the team will explore submarine gas-hydrate zones, where the ocean floor is frozen by methane-ice. The zones are a potential hazard in global warming, as partial melting could release large volumes of methane gas into the atmosphere.

Dr. Pierre Lachapelle, of the Montreal Children's Hospital, was a co-winner of the 1995 Inter-Service Clubs Council Prix d'excellence. Dr. Lachapelle was recognized for his opthalmology research on diseases affecting the retina and visual pathways, as well as the normal and abnormal maturation of the visual system in newborns. He shares the prize with Dr. Ernest Seidman, a gastoenterologist from l'Hôpital Ste-Justine.

Professor Michael Perceval-Maxwell, of the Department of History, has won the 1995 James S. Donnelly, Sr. Prize for History and Social Sciences, awarded by the American Conference for Irish Studies. The prize is given for his book The Outbreak of the Irish Rebellion of 1641, published by McGill-Queen's Press.

Ms. Linda Ordogh, Acting head of the Howard Ross Library of Management, was recently awarded a master's degree in the history of science from Harvard University.

Professor Michael Makkai, of the Department of Mathematics and Statistics, was recently elected to the position of Foreign Member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences. The honour is in recognition of his contribution to algebraic logic and model theory.

Dr. Wayne Hunte, Director of McGill's Bellairs Research Institute in Barbados, has won the Vice-Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Research at the University of the West Indies, and was recently promoted to a personal professorship in UWI's Department of Biology. A science documentary on coral reefs in which Dr. Hunte and his staff collaborated with journalists from Radio-Canada has won a silver medal at the Leonardo Film Festival in Parma, Italy.

Professor Armand de Mestral, of the Faculty of Law, was awarded an honorary doctorate in December from the Université Jean Moulin Lyon 3. The federal Minister for International Trade has also announced that Professor De Mestral has been named to the roster of panelists for the new dispute settlement system under the World Trade Organization.

Professor Margaret Hooton and Professor Lorine Besel, from the School of Nursing, were honoured recently as "Grandes infirmières" by l'Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers du Québec in recognition of their leadership in and contributions to the development of nursing in Quebec.

Mr. Matt Cohen, a student in the Department of Political Science, was named top speaker at two recent debating tournaments. Cohen, a member of the McGill Debating Union, earned the number-one rankings at the Central Canadian Championship and at the Concordia Scottish Style Debating Tournament. He and his partner Mr. Jamie Springer, a student in the Departments of Political Science and Philosophy, were the second best debating duo at the Concordia event.