Kudos McGill University

| Skip to search Skip to navigation Skip to page content

User Tools (skip):

Sign in | Friday, November 30, 2018
Sister Sites: McGill website | myMcGill

McGill Reporter
September 12, 2002 - Volume 35 Number 01
| Help
Page Options (skip): Larger


Professor Margaret Lock has been awarded a Canada Council for the Arts Molson Prize for her pioneering work in the field of medical anthropology. Two Molson Prizes are awarded each year to distinguished Canadians, one in the arts and the other in the social sciences or humanities. The prizes recognize the recipients' outstanding lifetime contribution to the cultural and intellectual life of Canada.

Rhonda Amsel, former associate dean of students and multiple teaching award winner, is one of the recipients of the 2002 3M Teaching Fellowships. The award is given to individuals who not only excel in the teaching of their own courses but also demonstrate an exceptionally high degree of leadership and commitment to the improvement of university teaching across disciplines.

Retired French Language and Literature Professor Axel Maugey has been received into the Légion d'Honneur. The award was established in 1802 by Napoleon Bonaparte and is France's highest public honour. It is awarded for gallantry in action or 20 years of distinguished civil or military service.

Professor Stephen J. Toope has been appointed the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation. The Government of Canada provided the foundation with a $125 million endowment in February to create the Trudeau Fellowship Programme to encourage students from Canada and abroad to conduct advanced work on current issues of social and public policy facing Canadian society. It will support up to 100 fellowships for doctoral and post doctoral students in the humanities and the human sciences and help establish a knowledge network to support these students.

Islamic Studies Professor Eric Ormsby won the silver medal for best essay writing at the National Magazine Awards, besting such noteworthy writers as Tomson Highway, Jean Paré, Jean-Francois Lisée and the National Post's Roy McGregor.

view sidebar content | back to top of page